Customs & Exercise


English traditional & new songs and tunes from Jess and Richard Arrowsmith.

SKU: ARRCD01 Category: Tag:


Customs & Exercise is a collection of English traditional and new songs and tunes using the voice and fiddle of Jess Arrowsmith, and the melodeons and voice of Richard Arrowsmith. The material spans emotional highs and lows: ballads ancient and modern, laments and lullabies, rousing jigs, stompy morris tunes and haunting Playford airs.

Richard and Jess are also joined by some stunning guest performances from Nancy Kerr (voice), Jo Maher (cor anglais), James Fagan (bouzouki) and Pete Smith (voice).

Customs & Exercise Track Listing:

  1. Hanged I should Be
  2. I’m going to Speke / Battle Swing
  3. The Smuggler
  4. The Death of Queen Jane
  5. Hare’s Maggot
  6. Single Girl’s Lament
  7. Smuggler’s Song
  8. Barham Down / Jack Come Sell Your Fiddle
  9. Morning Star / Flowers of Edinburgh
  10. The Ballad of Charlie David
  11. Jack Lay Back
  12. Mr Collins’ No. 1 & Mr Collins’ No. 2
  13. Where the Bee Sucks


Additional information

Weight 0.1 kg
Dimensions 24 × 17 × 2 cm